Edmondson and two others named Oklahoma Water Pioneers
Share this Article: Twitter Facebook Republish Print
YouTube Video

Published: 11-Nov-2010
CapitolBeatOK Staff Report

Published: 11-Nov-2010

Oklahoma’s outgoing Attorney General, a municipal water law official, and a retired state water planner were all recognized recently as Oklahoma Water Pioneers for 2010.

Receiving the Oklahoma Water Pioneer award – conferred each year to those individuals who have made lifetime contributions to the planning, development, management, and conservation of Oklahoma’s water resources – were Drew Edmondson, Diane Pedicord, and Mike Melton. Oklahoma Water Resources Board (OWRB) Executive Director J.D. Strong presented the awards during the Governor’s Water Conference luncheon ceremony in late October.

Drew Edmondson was elected Attorney General in 1994, and was re-elected in 1998, 2002 and 2006. He ran unsuccessfully for governor this year losing to Lieutenant Governor Jari Askins in the July primary.

In the words of a press release from OWRB officials, sent to CapitolBeatOK, Edmondson “has fought vigorously to protect Oklahoma's water resources, both from a quality and quantity perspective. Most notably, in 2005, after years of negotiations, Edmondson filed suit on behalf of the state against more than a dozen poultry companies alleging illegal waste dumping practices in the Illinois River Watershed.”

Diane Pedicord is General Counsel and Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs for the Oklahoma Municipal League. A long-time authority on the state’s water law, for many years she has worked closely with the OWRB and others to guide Oklahoma water law and policy, especially in a manner consistent with long-term municipal planning goals. She currently facilitates the Oklahoma Water Law Group, a consortium of large water users.

Mike Melton served the Oklahoma Water Resources Board for 38 years as a field engineer, division chief, Legislative Liaison and Assistant Director. As chief of the OWRB’s Planning Division, he was successful in acquiring much-needed federal assistance for state water planning projects. He also coordinated early development of the original Oklahoma Comprehensive Water Plan (OCWP), also serving as Chairman of the OCWP Planning Committee.

Since its inception in 1985, more than 100 Oklahomans have been honored with the Water Pioneer award, which is selected by sponsors of the Water Conference.

The Governor’s Water Conference, held annually in the fall, attracts hundreds of people from across the U.S. to discuss state and national water issues. The annual conference is hosted by the OWRB.

sign up for email updates

Steal Our Stuff